Chocolate Pistachio Biscotti

DSCN4164

It’s always fun to try new things.

For example, biscotti. I’d never had any desire to make it. I’ve had it at restaurants and coffee shops and wasn’t that enthusiastic about it–it’s a super dry, hard & crunchy, rather bland biscuit/cookie, and I knew I could fulfill my sweets craving with much “better” alternatives (um, molten chocolate lava cake? chocolate chip cookies? chocolate…).

However, then I tried my friend Sarah’s homemade chocolate chip biscotti.

Let’s just say, I was converted.

Having been on a pistachio kick lately and always in the mood for (dark) chocolate, I found a recipe for chocolate biscotti with pistachios. Not only that, I had a willing audience: a small shindig was being held at my house (read: one of my mom’s friends came over to do scrapbooking) and I took this as a sign that I should bake.

DSCN4142

I’m pretty glad I did.

Chocolate Pistachio Biscotti

Adapted from SkinnyTaste

1 2/3 cups whole wheat pastry flour

1/2 cup cocoa powder

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

pinch salt

3/4 cup whole pistachios

1/4 cup Earth Balance

3/4 cup powdered sugar

2 large eggs

Preheat the oven to 375°F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Combine flour, cocoa, baking powder, salt in one bowl. In a mixer, cream butter and sugar and then add the eggs one at a time.

Add the dry ingredients in increments and mix on low speed until just combined. Stir in the pistachios.

Divide the dough into two or three and form into long flat shapes about 8.5 x 1.5″ wide. Place on the baking sheet and bake 20 minutes. Remove, and allow to cool.

Gently cut the loaves on an angle into 1/2 inch slices. Use a serrated bread knife, but don’t saw, merely press down. My dough crumbled easily.

Arrange the slices on the baking sheet and bake another 3-4 minutes per side. Let cool and serve.

DSCN4173

I actually halved the above recipe using volume measurements (and my digital scale!) and it made about 12 pieces. They were really yummy–not too sweet and felt more wholesome due to the whole wheat pastry flour.

Plus, they weren’t overly crunchy. Homemade biscotti is where it’s at. I really liked the combination of pistachio and chocolate. The only thing I would do differently is add dried cherries or dried cranberries–that would just bring out all the flavors even more, or add sea salt on top. But, no cherries didn’t mean that these weren’t scarfed by my family (and my mom’s friend) the same night!

Sarah, however, reigns queen of biscotti-making–hers are just so good.

2 comments on “Chocolate Pistachio Biscotti

Leave a Reply

