BLATs: “Bacon” Lettuce Avocado Tomato Sandwiches

DSCN4110

Okay, don’t run away upon reading the word “bacon” in quotation marks. After seeing a photo of a classic BLT on a menu or on TV or somewhere, I was thinking hmm, I wouldn’t mind having a BLT again. I don’t really like to eat too much meat, especially bacon, but that combination of sweet tomato, creamy mayonnaise, crisp lettuce and savory bacon is just oh-so-hard to resist.

DSCN4106

So when I had a block of tofu to use up and a chance tofu-bacon-recipe-encounter, the choice was obvious! Tofu bacon for BLTs it is!

Actually, BLATs it is–I threw on some avocado for good measure (and because I have a love affair with Avocado… watch out, Chocolate).

BLATs: “Bacon” Lettuce Avocado Tomato Sandwiches

Adapted from Allrecipes and Vegan Feast Kitchen

7.5 oz extra firm tofu (I used this sprouted tofu I got from Trader Joe’s)

4 tablespoons maple syrup

6 tablespoons of water

1/2 teaspoon of soy sauce (or, do 2 tablespoons of water instead of 6, and 4 tablespoons low sodium soy sauce)

2 teaspoons onion powder

1 teaspoon garlic powder

2 tablespoons nutritional yeast

Sesame oil for pan-frying

Drain the tofu and cut into very thin slices (the thinner, the better; I used a cheese-slicer). Set aside.

In a flat, shallow container, whisk together the marinade ingredients. Submerge the tofu slices and marinade for as long as you like; some recipes say 10 minutes, others say 8 hours or a few days. I did about an hour or so and the taste was delicious!

In a grill pan, heat some sesame oil to medium heat. Fry the tofu slices about five minutes total or more for extra crispiness, flipping for even cooking. The cooked tofu will be easier to handle and less crumbly. Get some grill marks on them!

Let cool and assemble the sandwiches. My BL(A)T consists of: toasted bread, miracle whip, lettuce, tomato, avocado, bacon, miracle whip, toasted bread, in that order. Ground pepper, as well, if you so desire (I dislike pepper).

DSCN4116

The tofu bacon was surprisingly… delicious. It didn’t taste like exactly bacon, of course, but was subtly sweet due to the maple syrup (and my much lowered amount of soy sauce–using more soy sauce may be necessary, I just didn’t have any low-sodium on hand). I would try to add more soy sauce or sprinkle some sea salt on them next time, to bring the flavor to the next level. The crispy texture of the thinner slices was really yummy and complemented the other sandwich ingredients very well.

The sandwich was truly satisfying. This is a delicious way to use up extra tofu!

4 comments on “BLATs: “Bacon” Lettuce Avocado Tomato Sandwiches

  1. Thomas says:

    Mmmm well I was just going to run away lol but I know you would have posted a vegan recipe 😉 looks very good 😉

Leave a Reply

