Miniature Chocolate Cheesecakes

 

After a long, long hiatus… I am back!!!

It (said hiatus) began with voyaging to China and has been prolonged by college. But I think I made up for those 3-4 long months by cooking most of Thanksgiving, and now…

Mini.

Chocolate.

Cheesecakes.

With peppermint dust.

And peppermint shards. 

 

Chocolate cheesecakes: inspired by my friend Ratcha! (Props.)

The cheesecakes are chocolate. The crust is double-stuffed Oreos. Topped off with more chocolate and a sprinkle of candy cane, these bite-sized desserts are both light, yet satisfying.

 

Miniature Chocolate Cheesecakes 

Adapted from Lauren’s Latest; makes 12 mini and I made 1 larger ramekin-sized one; probably makes 18 total mini

12 double-stuf (or regular) Oreos

About 3 tablespoons melted butter

1 package of low fat or regular cream cheese, room temperature is easier

About two ounces semi sweet chocolate chips

1 egg

1/4 cup raw (or regular) sugar

Optional: more melted chocolate and candy canes, crushed

Preheat oven to 325°F. Spray mini-muffin pan with PAM or cooking spray.

In a food processor, process the Oreos until fine and crumbly. Add the melted butter and process again. Press about 1.5 tablespoons in each cup.

In an electric mixer, whip cream cheese and melted chocolate until combined and fluffy. Scrape down the sides as needed.

Add the egg and combine thoroughly.

Add the sugar and stir in on low speed until the sugar is dissolved (more of an issue with bigger granuled-raw sugar).

Distribute about 1 teaspoonful of batter into each prepared cup.

Bake 15 minutes for mini, 20 or more for larger; to test, shake pan. Do the cheesecakes jiggle? Stick them back in.

Allow to come to room temperature before attempting Operation Remove From Pan.

Refrigerate before serving.

Optional garnish: Dollop a bit of melted chocolate in the center of each cheesecake, and sprinkle crushed candy cane on top. Mmm.

 

These came out so delicious. I can’t wait to share them!

6 comments on “Miniature Chocolate Cheesecakes

  1. Brittany says:

    These are adorable, and I LOVE the addition of the peppermint on top!

  2. blogturtle says:

    mmm. chocolate cheesecakes is just what the doctor ordered, and in cupcake form.

    welcome back too! did you brush up on your chinese language and cooking?

    • Sam says:

      Haha! Thanks! I did, it was so amazing. The cook at the Haojiping Ethnic School taught us how to make dumplings; I’ll write a post about that. My friend and I are going to get together and try to recreate some of the food we ate there, like manto and roasted peanuts that we ate for breakfast every morning. So excited! How have you been these past few months, hope life is going well!

      • blogturtle says:

        cool, sam. i like dumplings like siu mai and har gow (spelling wrong?). can you make those now?

        i can make wontons. its quite meditative.

        the past few months were not so great. a hurricane hit our area and my cat passed. but i dont want to be a debbie downer.

        i would love to see dumpling creations sometime 🙂

      • Sam says:

        I like those too! Unfortunately we just learned how to make more simple dumplings, not even sure what they’d be called. But mm, I would be very happy if I knew how to make siu mai and har gow. Sometimes my friends and I get together and make potstickers; I find it meditative too.

        I’m sorry to hear about your cat… That’s so sad. If you’re referring to Sandy, we got hit too–a tree fell on my parent’s house and car. No one was hurt, thankfully, but it was a close call. At school I was fine–just didn’t have power for about a day.

  3. blogturtle says:

    thank you.
    my cat was 15 yrs old and lived a full happy life.

    im glad everyone is ok after that storm in your neighborhood.

Leave a Reply

