Grilled Pizza Margherita

I have always been curious about grilled pizza since I first saw a recipe a few years ago.

So when my friend and fellow cooking-enthusiast came over, we decided to experiment!

It’s pretty easy. Inside, roll out the pizza dough. Sprinkle cornmeal on a wooden paddle and transfer dough onto that. Then, carefully transfer onto a hot grill. Cook. Take out, flip over, and sprinkle toppings on the cooked side. Return to grill to cook the uncooked side. Serve.

Okay, I lied. In THEORY it’s easy.

We had trouble getting the pizza to go on the right spot on the grill (think burned spots) and we cooked it a bit too long (7 minutes = dried out dough).

Also, using a tomato sauce or ricotta would have been a better idea than just mozz. I don’t know what I was thinking.

But all in all, it was pretty good. Basil from the garden gave it a beautiful aroma. It was a fun experiment. I think a bigger wooden paddle is in order–the second pizza kind of folded when I tried to put it on the grill. But I am going to try this again!

3 comments on “Grilled Pizza Margherita

  1. I’ve been wanting to try making grilled pizza. I think you’ve inspired me to give it a try. Thanks for sharing!

  2. […] friend and I also made blueberry cream cheese pies, with a recipe adapted from Pillsbury. While the […]

Leave a Reply

