Addicting Quinoa Veggie Salad

Believe you me, I could eat this

all

day

long

Addicting Quinoa Vegetable Salad

Adapted from… me!

2 cups dry quinoa, rinsed

4 cups water

juice of 1/2 lemon

1-2 tablespoons evoo

1 tablespoon lemon zest

black pepper

1 can black beans, rinsed

1 can corn, rinsed or package/0.5 bag frozen corn, thawed

1 avocado, cubed

1 tomato, cubed, with a pinch of salt sprinkled on it

Onion, chopped (I hate raw onion, so I didn’t use, but would probably a nice addition for those raw-onion fans out there)

1.5 cups edamame seeds (I had a frozen package that I steamed in the microwave)

10 leaves cilantro, torn up

10 leaves basil, torn up

Cook quinoa in 4 cups of water per package directions.

Combine lemon zest, juice, evoo, and pepper. Toss with black beans, corn, avocado, tomato, edamame, cilantro, and basil.

Once done, transfer quinoa to a large bowl and toss with veggie mix until combined.

Say who? C’est moi!

To photograph, I arranged the veggies on top of a quinoa bed for photogenicity. You can eat it this way too, but I prefer it combined.

Okay, I have made a similar salad before. But not with fresh herbs, and not with edamame! The possibilities are endless and I loved having more green yummies in the salad. Creamy avocado, sweet crunchy corn, satisfying black beans & quinoa, tangy lemon, savory tomato… It’s a total one-pot meal. Lovelovelove. And so easy to make! I swear you’ll want to eat the whole bowl.  Not to mention, full of plant protein, complex carbohydrates, good-for-you fats, antioxidants, the whole shebang!

Note: this tastes best the day it’s made; the lemon flavor diminishes when it sits for a while.

Leave a Reply

