Quinoa + Avocado, Tomato, Black Beans, Corn, and Lemon/Lime Vinaigrette

After three weeks of living here in NYC, I finally cooked!

An oldie, but a goodie.

I figure, in my ovenless, toasterless, food-processor-less apartment, start off with something I know that’s relatively easy. However, there are so many things at home that I just take for granted! Including big bowls, big pots, counter space…

But, made it work! Borrowed my roommate’s little pot to cook the quinoa in, which ended up being the perfect size. Rave reviews from said roomie as well!

And, okay, there’s more to this sudden motivation to cook… Lab barbecue coming up… “Everyone’s bringing something!” Hmm…

Quinoa + Avocado, Tomato, Black Beans, Corn, and Lemon/Lime Vinaigrette

Serves a lot of people as a side dish

Adapted from a couple of recipes

1.5 cups uncooked quinoa

3 cups water

Two 15-ounce cans black beans, rinsed and drained

Two 15-ounce cans whole kernel corn

2 avocados, peeled and cut into 1/2-inch pieces

2 pints cherry tomatoes, halved

1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

Zest and juice of 2 lime

Zest and juice of 1 + 1/2 a lemon

Cook quinoa with the water according to package directions. Let cool to room temperature.

Combine beans, corn, avocado, and tomatoes. Toss with cooled quinoa.

Whisk together olive oil, citrus juice and zest. Toss with quinoa. Refrigerate several hours or overnight to let the dressing soak into the quinoa.

This was as delicious as always, especially when eaten out of my personalized bowl that my college roommate made me for my birthday (I love cows). I love the flavor/texture combination of … everything in this salad! The creamy avocado, acidity of tomatoes, lemons, and limes, slightly crunchy quinoa, sweet corn, and substantial-feeling black beans. It’s also a powerhouse of antioxidants, protein, healthy fats… you can’t go wrong.

Truthfully, I only juiced 1.5 lemons because my hands got tired of squeezing the lemons and limes. The recipe is pretty versatile. Go ahead and juice the rest if you have strong hands or better yet, a lemon juicer.

Also, this is a double recipe… so, halve as desired. Also, onion was used in the original recipe, but I hate the aftertaste of raw onion, so I just left it out. Cumin would be excellent, but, spices are expensive… Props to the fruit stand guys that line the streets of Manhattan for my cheap(er) avocados and tomatoes. Don’t worry, I scrubbed those suckers down until they sparkled.

6/28/2011: Update – my roommate “confessed” to me that she had been sneaking bowls of this salad–it is that good.

5 comments on “Quinoa + Avocado, Tomato, Black Beans, Corn, and Lemon/Lime Vinaigrette

  1. hueynews says:

    I want some now! (good idea to make more and have some for you and your roomie šŸ™‚

  2. amazething says:

    I love quinoa. This looks so good ans tasted even better when I made it šŸ™‚

  3. […] feel like when I cook here in NY a lot of the same ingredients seem to come into play… see my quinoa from […]

  4. […] I have made a similar salad before. But not with fresh herbs, and not with edamame! The possibilities are endless and I loved having […]

Leave a Reply

