Salmon with Sesame and Orange-Ginger Relish

After being home for practically 3 weeks, I realized I had not made a salmon dish!

Quelle horreur. Salmon is one of my favorite foods.

Usually we just broil it with some garlic and lemon juice. But this time I was feeling especially motivated.

It was kind of time consuming, but hey, I’m on summer vacation. I have nothing but time… until June 4th. Then I’ll be swamped. So, making the most of it.

I needed dry white wine. Unfortunately I used up the last bit in the Shrimp Scampi. So, I went on a little wine adventure with my mom to the Franklin Wine Shop and purchased a French wine, from the Alsace region. A Pinot Blanc. I don’t know wine very well but it worked in this recipe, even if I almost spat it out upon tasting it straight up. The wine connoisseur in the Wine Shop was super knowledgeable and really nice, and helped us out a lot in choosing a good wine for this recipe! So, totally go there for all your wine needs.

Also, in reality I did have 4 filets, but only 3 of them fit comfortably on the platter for photographing purposes.

Salmon with Sesame and Orange-Ginger Relish

Adapted from this recipe

1/3 cup dry white wine

1/3 cup fresh orange juice

2 1/2 tablespoons lite soy sauce

4 small salmon filets (I used thawed Wild Alaskan Salmon from Costco) or one 2.5 lb salmon filet

3 large navel oranges

1/2 cup matchstick-size strips red pepper

1/2 cup thinly sliced red onion

2 1/2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro

2 teaspoons minced peeled fresh ginger

2 teaspoons grated orange peel

1 teaspoon oriental sesame oil

1/2 teaspoon coarse kosher salt

1/4 teaspoon dried crushed red pepper

PAM

1 tablespoon sesame seeds, toasted

Whisk the dry white wine, soy sauce and orange juice in a bowl and then transfer to a shallow pan large enough to hold the salmon filet(s). Rinse the thawed or fresh salmon filets and place, skin side up, into marinade. Cover with plastic wrap and chill from 2-4 hours. Bring to room temperature 30 minutes before cooking.

Before cutting the oranges, zest the 2 tablespoons of zest into a medium bowl. Then, using paring knife, peel and segment the orange, catching any juice and all the sections in a small bowl.

Mix red pepper and the next 7 ingredients in that medium bowl with the zest and combine, and then fold in the orange segments plus any juice that accumulated. (Can prepare 1 hr ahead, let stand at room temp.)

Preheat oven to 450°F. Line a rimmed baking sheet with aluminum foil, and spray generously with pam. Place salmon skin side down on baking sheet and sprinkle with pepper. Bake 10-20 minutes (my small filets took 10 and were perfect). After they are cooked, transfer to a serving platter and spoon the orange relish over the center of the fish. To toast sesame seeds, I spread some out in a tray in the convection oven at 375°F for 2-3 minutes until lightly brown. Sprinkle with sesame seeds, and serve.

This was so good. I was afraid I overcooked the salmon because the smoke detector went off (twice) and the edges were really brown. But Costco salmon has never failed me yet and it was cooked perfectly! The orange relish was really bright and colorful, as well as delicious. A perfect summertime dinner.

Yum…

Drool.

One comment on “Salmon with Sesame and Orange-Ginger Relish

  1. […] had to buy a package of cilantro for the Salmon with Sesame and Orange-Ginger Relish. I needed 1/4 cup. The package was as big as my head. So, extra cilantro lying […]

Leave a Reply

