Restaurant: P. J. Clarke’s in NYC

So about a week ago my family and I went to the city to visit Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, where I will interning this summer. We ate at P. J. Clarke’s (915 3rd Ave, New York, NY, 10022), a sort of Irish pub restaurant not far from where my apartment will be.

Pictures are shaky due to dim lighting and growling stomachs. Above is Chicken Paillard with Arugla Salad and Shaved Parmesan… And a grilled lemon, which was pretty cool. It was pretty good; a little too much dressing on the arugula though, kind of drenched. The chicken was cooked really well and nice and charred on the underside.

Another dish: Creamy Tomato Soup with Farmstead Cheddar Crouton. My mom gave it good reviews but wished there was another crouton!

And a really awesome picture of my dad’s Corned Beef Reuben with Swiss and Homemade Sauerkraut. Also got good reviews. My dad was a happy camper.

We have been to this restaurant before, but a different location at Lincoln Square (44 W 63rd St, New York, NY, 10023).

That day, my dad got himself Irish Beef Stew with Toasted Mashed Potatoes… He liked it very much.

Mom got a side of Jumbo Grilled Asparagus, and Roast Beets, Orange, Walnuts & Mache, Yougurt Dressing. She thoroughly enjoyed!

And I got something not explicitly stated on the menu… a crab cake on a salad of mixed greens, tomato, avocado and sliced radishes. Tres delicieux.

Overall, it’s a pretty good restaurant but too pricey to eat there all of the time. I liked the location by Lincoln Center better than where we went the second time, P. J. Clarke’s 1884… The overall atmosphere at 1884 was so dark and noisy, while the former was much more bright and welcoming.

Both locations also have a raw seafood bar which looked pretty good, judging by peering over at other peoples’ tables.

And their sweet potato fries are awesome.

Try P. J. Clarke’s at Lincoln Square for a nice meal out!

One comment on “Restaurant: P. J. Clarke’s in NYC

  1. […] was tasty. The crabcakes were too deepfried for me; personally I have had much better ones (PJ Clarke’s, among others) but my boyfriend really liked […]

Leave a Reply

