Chocolate Chip Yogurt Cookies


As you may come to notice, a lot of the inspiration for the recipes I attempt comes from the need to use up a surplus of an ingredient in our house.

This time, it was Fage Total Classic (the whole-milk kind–I really don’t like it by itself; I worked it into a few recipes but still had some to deal with) some chocolate chips that had melted on the way home from college and re-formed into a solid mass that I chopped up into chunks, and some old brown sugar from a baking adventure a long time ago. Did you know that microwaving frozen, hard-as-a-rock brown sugar totally works to soften it? Happy discovery.

This was a definite experiment in the kitchen. They truly are yogurt cookies; yogurt is the only fat and liquid (besides the vanilla extract) that holds them together. Chocolate chips and dried cranberries with a sprinkle of sea salt on top? Da bomb.

Chocolate Chip Yogurt Cookies
Adapted from this recipe

3/4 cup packed brown sugar

1 heaping cup Fage Total Classic Greek yogurt; probably more like 1 1/2 cups

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 3/4 scant cups white whole wheat flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Big handful dried cranberries

Sea salt

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Grease cookie sheets or use a silicone liner.

In a medium bowl, stir together yogurt and vanilla and add brown sugar; mix until any lumps of the brown sugar are gone. Combine the flour, baking soda, and salt; stir into the yogurt mixture until incorporated, then mix in chocolate chips and cranberries. Drop by rounded tablespoons, onto the prepared cookie sheets. Flatten them a little so they cook through better, space about an inch or two apart. Sprinkle a bit of sea salt on the tops before baking.

Bake for 15-20 minutes until tops are brown. It took a while for me. Cool for a minute on the cookie tray before removing. I didn’t count, but counting the 5 that I immediately inhaled and the 7 my taste-testers devoured… I would say this made maybe 24-30 cookies.

These tasted a bit doughy to my Dad and I. I would use less flour next time. I eyeballed pretty much everything so that may have been a factor. Also the original recipe calls for 1/2 cup of butter and 1/2 cup 0% Greek yogurt; I substituted a whole cup and then some of full fat Greek yogurt. My mom really liked them though. I would definitely try them again.

If you make them let me know how they turn out!

2 comments on “Chocolate Chip Yogurt Cookies

  1. sarah says:

    these sound and look sooo yummy! i can’t bake at all, but i may have to attempt making these!

Leave a Reply

